Affective Domain Taxonomy

Affective domains deal with changes in attitudes and changes in behaviors related to changes in attitudes. An example of a content areas with affective objectives would be diversity awareness and relating to peoples from different backgrounds.


This taxonomy table lists levels of commitment (indicating affect) from lowest to highest.

Levels of Affective Domains
Level Definition Example
1. Receiving Being aware of or attending to something in the environment Individual would read a book passage about civil rights.
2. Responding Showing some new behaviors as a result of experience Individual would answer questions about the book, read another book by the same author, another book about civil rights, etc.
3. Valuing Showing some definite involvement or commitment The individual might demonstrate this by voluntarily attending a lecture on civil rights.
4. Organization Integrating a new value into one's general set of values, giving it some ranking among one's general priorities The individual might arrange a civil rights rally.
5. Characterization by Value Acting consistently with the new value   The individual is firmly committed to the value, perhaps becoming a civil rights leader.


Table adapted from

Krathwohl, D., Bloom, B., & Masia, B. (1956). Taxonomy of educational objectives. Handbook II: Affective domain. New York: David McKay.

Additional Links